Recreation Commission

See Town By-Laws, Sec. 2.6.7 - Town Personnel © Recreation Commission.

A Recreation Commission to consist of eleven (11) members, appointed by the Town Manager for terms of three years each, so arranged that as nearly an equal number of such terms as is possible shall expire each year.


The Billerica Recreation Commission is a policy/advisory board.  The Commission sets policy and gives advice with respect to Billerica Recreation regarding administration, finance, programs, public and community relations.

The Recreation Commission shall be responsible for issuing usage permits for all town owned fields and recreation facilities and with permission of the School Committee, any school owned fields and recreational facilities. This responsibility is delegated to the Recreation Director.


The members of the Recreation Commission are appointed for a three year term by the Town Manager.  Terms for members are distributed evenly over a three year period.  A term begins on July first and ends three years later on June thirtieth.  Any citizen who is a resident of the town of Billerica may seek appointment to the Recreation Commission.  Applications are accepted in the spring by the Town Manager. The Town Manager and the Recreation Director may interview applicants prior to their appointments.


The Recreation Commission meets on the second Wednesday of each month, usually at 6:30PM.

  1. John Bartlett


  2. Joe Fiumara


  3. Cynthia Rich


    Term expires June 30, 2018.

  1. James Spinale

  2. Donald Casey

  3. Jack Bertolucci